

## REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND WORKS



## DEPARTMENT OF MERCHANT SHIPPING LEMESOS

Circular No. 32/2011

8 September 2011

TEN 5.13.09 TEN 4.3.08.6

To All Owners, Managers and Representatives of Ships under the Cyprus Flag

To All Owners, Managers and Charterers of Ships under a foreign flag operating in the Republic of Cyprus

c/o Cyprus Shipping Chamber (CSC) c/o Cyprus Union of Shipowners (CUS)

Subject: Adoption of Council Implementing Decision 2011/521/CFSP amending Council Decision 2011/137/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 872/2011 amending Council Regulation (EU) No 204/2011.

- 1. I refer to the above subject and further to my previous Circulars No. 10/2011 (dated 18.03.2011) and No. 29/2011 (dated 18.03.2011) regarding the inclusion of the Libyan port authorities to the sanctions lists by virtue of Amending Council Decision 2011/332/CFSP and Amending Council Regulation (EU) No 572/2011, I am pleased to inform you that the Council of the European Union has adopted on the 01.09.2011¹ Council Implementing Decision 2011/521/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 872/2011. The effect of these EU instruments is the deletion from the relevant sanctions lists of the following entities:
  - 1. Economic and Social Development Fund (ESDF)
  - 2. National Commercial Bank
  - 3. Gumhouria Bank
  - 4. Sahara Bank
  - 5. Azzawia (Azawiya) Refining
  - 6. Ras Lanuf Oil and Gas Processing Company (RASCO)

Published in the Official Gazette of the European Union, L 227 dated 2 September 2011.



Kyllinis Street, Mesa Geitonia, 4007 Lemesos, Postal Address: P.O.Box 56193, 3305 Lemesos, Cyprus Telephone: +357 25848100, Telefax: +357 25848200 E-mail: maritimeadmin@dms.mcw.gov.cy, Web page: http://www.shipping.gov.cy

- 7. Brega
- 8. Sirte Oil Company
- 9. Waha Oil Company
- 10. Tamoil Africa Holdings Limited (a.k.a. Oil Libya Holding Company)
- 11. First Gulf Libyan Bank
- 12. National Oil Wells and Drilling and Workover Company (a.k.a. National Oil Wells Chemical and Drilling and Workover Equipment Co.; a.k.a. National Oil Wells Drilling And Workover Equipment Co.)
- 13. North African Geophysical Exploration Company (a.k.a. NAGECO; a.k.a. North African Geophysical Exploration)
- 14. National Oil Fields and Terminals Catering Company
- 15. Mabruk Oil Operations
- 16. Harouge Oil Operations (a.k.a. Harouge; a.k.a. Veba Oil Libya GMBH)
- 17. Jawaby Property Investment Limited
- 18. Tekxel Limited
- 19. Mediterranean Oil Services Company (a.k.a. Mediterranean Sea Oil Services Company)
- Mediterranean Oil Services GMBH (a.k.a. MED OIL OFFICE DUESSELDORF, a.k.a. MEDOIL)
- 21. Libyan Arab Airlines
- 22. Port authority of Tripoli
- 23. Port authority of Al Khoms
- 24. Port authority of Brega
- 25. Port authority of Ras Lanuf
- 26. Port authority of Zawia
- 27. Port authority of Zuwara
- 28. Al-Sharara Oil Services Company (a.k.a.: Al Sharara, Al-shahara oil service company, Sharara Oil Service Company, Sharara, Al-Sharara al-Dhahabiya Oil Service Company)

In this respect, Cyprus Ships are now not prohibited to make any direct or indirect transfer of funds and/or economic resources to the Authorities or Operators of these ports and entities.

2. All recipients of the present Circular are invited to take note of its content and should strictly abide by the provisions of Council Regulation (EU) No 204/2011 as amended by Council Regulation (EU) No 572/2011, Council Decision 2011/137/CFSP as amended by Council Decision 2011/332/CFSP, UNSCRs 1970 (2011) and 1973 (2011) and of my Circulars No. 10/2011 and No. 29/2011.

Your attention is also drawn to the *Advisory Note on the situation in the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya dated 28 March 2011* issued by this Administration and posted on the DMS Website (see, click *Latest News*)

The text of the aforementioned European Union instruments may be found on <a href="http://eur-lex.europa.eu">http://eur-lex.europa.eu</a> whereas the text of United Nations Security Council Resolutions may be found on <a href="http://www.un.org/Docs/sc/">http://www.un.org/Docs/sc/</a>.

This Circular must be placed on board vessels flying the Cyprus flag.

Serghios S. Serghiou

Maghior

Director

Department of Merchant Shipping

## Cc: - Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Works

- Maritime Offices of the Department of Merchant Shipping abroad
- Attorney General of the Republic (MOKAS)
- Governor Central Bank of Cyprus
- Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- Permanent Secretary Ministry of Justice ,and Public Order
- Permanent Secretary Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism
- Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence
- Diplomatic Missions and Honorary Consular Officers of the Republic
- General Manager Cyprus Ports Authority
- General Manager Cyprus Electricity Authority
- Cyprus Shipping Association
- Cyprus Bar Association
- Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Cyprus